How To Read Your Astrology Birth Chart

There are many types of birth charts that present astrological data in different formats. A standard Western chart is circular and consists of an inner ring of numbered houses and an outer ring of astrological signs. Get a free natal chart and learn more about the basics of reading birth charts and how charts inform the best psychic readings online.

The 12 Astrological Houses

There are 12 houses on a birth chart corresponding to the positions of celestial objects at the time of birth. The left side of the chart corresponds to heavenly bodies rising on the eastern horizon. The descendent or western horizon is on the right. The top of the chart is the highest part of the ecliptic in the sky. The bottom is the ecliptic below the horizon.

The first house indicates the self and outward appearance. The second reflects means and values. The third corresponds to communication and learning. The fourth relates to home and family. The fifth corresponds to children and romance. The sixth house indicates health and wellbeing. The seventh reflects relationships. The eighth applies to rebirth and regeneration. The ninth corresponds to learning and long-distance travel. The tenth relates to career and status. The eleventh is the house of hopes and partnerships. The twelfth and final house pertains to dreams, secrets and the unknown.

The 12 Zodiac Signs

The outer ring of the two concentric circles on a standard Western natal chart integrates astrological signs. These signs connect to planets and elements are influenced by aspects, elements and modes. The house that each planet is in indicates experiences in life and other factors that can have an influence on your personality and life path.

Most people are familiar with these signs because the zodiac is associated with birth dates and sun signs. In terms of astrology, these signs correspond to 12 sectors measuring 30 degrees that make up the 360-degree orbit of Earth around the Sun. The signs of the Western Zodiac are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

The Planets and Aspects

Birth charts map out the position of planets relative to houses and signs to offer insight about a person born at the time and place for whose chart is analyzed during online medium readings. The planets are divided into personal planets and outer planets. The personal planets are the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus and Mars. The outer planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Pluto and Neptune.

Various angles and combinations may become apparent when the position of planets is mapped on a birth chart. The five major aspects include conjunction, sextile, square, trine and opposition, each indicating the degrees of separation between planets on a chart.

Basic familiarity with the components of a birth chart indicates the relevance of these diagrams, but it can still be difficult to make or interpret your own birth chart. Fortunately, resources are available to automatically calculate your birth chart. An astrologer or psychic who is trained in astrology can help you interpret and reflect on your natal chart.

You might be interested in knowing best astrology websites.